top of page
Rebranding_Primary Logo_Black (1).png

The LKS Faculty of Medicine of The University of Hong Kong (HKUMed) is the oldest local institution of higher education in Hong Kong.  It was founded as the Hong Kong College of Medicine for Chinese in 1887, was renamed the Hong Kong College of Medicine in 1907 and became the premier founding Faculty when the University was established in 1911. From its modest beginnings, the Faculty has grown to become the largest faculty of the University.


HKUMed admits about 560 students to our six full-time undergraduate programmes each year. They are part of the contingent of about 2,900 undergraduate students studying in our Faculty. We also count about 1,700 postgraduate students in our student body.   


Teaching is conducted by more than 400 full-time, highly-qualified teaching staff, alongside about 3,000 honorary teachers, most of whom are doctors in public hospitals or private practitioners. The excellence of the education we provide can be seen in our graduates, who have gone on to be leaders in their fields, in Hong Kong and the world.


HKUMed is comprised of 14 departments and 4 schools -- namely, School of Biomedical Sciences, School of Chinese Medicine, School of Nursing, School of Public Health (home of HKU-Pasteur Research Pole (PRP)) -- and a number of strategic centres of research excellence.

Cheung Chin Lan Hong Artriumlight.jpg
  • Threads
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page